I try to make a trip to the Houston Museum of Fine Arts once a year and when I heard of their new exhibition, Pipilotti Rist: Pixel Forest and Worry Will Vanish, I knew I had to see it. I have wanted to see this new immersive exhibit ever since I saw the sneak peak photos on Instagram. The dark lighting, color changing lights, and ambient music certainly make for an interesting experience. It felt almost otherworldly,  especially with the video installation’s ambiguous imagery taking you on a journey through time and space.

pixel forest gif 2

It was really busy, even though my friend and I visited the exhibit on a Wednesday afternoon. It is summer vacation though, so that is to be expected. The exhibit provides a really cool and unique photo op, which is a thought everyone seemed to have. I had fun taking photos and watching the video installation on the cushions they had on the floor. They were nice, but they were made of wool, so they also weren’t nice.

IMG_1955

I highly recommend taking a look at this exhibit if you have the chance. My friend and I had a good time discussing the imagery in the video installation. It was a very calming and meditative experience, that I enjoyed immensely. I only wish that I could have brought my dog.

