Summer is here and I guess I am going to have to accept it… but I REALLY HATE  summer HATE IT. I hate being hot. I hate bugs. I hate the sun. I hate humidity and so far this Texas heat is not playing any games and it is taking no prisoners. So in a feeble attempt to combat this heat with cute outfits and a dash of mediocre optimism I thought I would put together a summer lookbook, because sure I am sweaty, but it’s an aesthetically pleasing sweaty.

Amazon

I love food prints on anything and when I saw this adorable dress on the resale app Depop I knew I had to get it! (psst check out my vintage store on the app!!) The dress is a little short so I like to pair it with these lolita bloomers I found on Amazon. My mother hates them, but I like how frilly and lacy they are and they are sort of ridiculous in a cute way. I practically live in my Doc Martens they are the most comfortable pair of shoes I own and with my disability comfort is so important to me. I walk with a cane and using a backpack is a must and my fjallraven kanken backpack is one of my favorites. It carries so much stuff allowing me to easily tote around my dslr along with my other essentials. This backpack also does a great job at distributing weight due to the design of the straps, I never thought I would feel such an intense loyalty to a backpack but my Kanken has mine no question.

Ross.png

I love a deal and when I saw this daisy print dress at Ross for ten dollars I nearly cried. The fabric is cool and light weight and is perfect for the living hell that is Texas in the summertime. I love the 90s feel to it and paired it with a choker as well as a denim jacket from Target. A lightweight jacket is sort of a summer essential out here since everywhere you go the AC will be on full blast. I paired with my trusty Mary Jane Doc’s that I love to wear with both white ankle socks and no show socks. I think both look great!

Target

I spend a lot of time at Target, just like your average millennial woman, and when I first saw this top I feel in love. I love gingham print because not only does it scream summer it screams vintage summer and this blouse makes me think of the 70s. The sleeves billow out and the fabric is so comfortable I want to buy ten more. I paired it with a pair of high-waisted shorts also from target and my favorite sun hat from Forever 21. The shoes are a pair of platform Mary Janes purchased from Amazon that are surprisingly comfortable.

I hope this lookbook helps inspire you this season. Stay cool, it’s definitely a hot one out there!

