If you have met me or have talked to me at all my love for drag race is probably pretty obvious. I love drag. I love watching TV shows about drag and one of my favorite queens from Ru Paul’s Drag Race is legend, icon, and star Trixie Mattel. When I heard she was going to be making a stop in Texas, I knew I had to see her.

So, I got tickets to her show Ages 3 and Up and took the three hour drive with my family and my gal pal Ana to San Antonio. I haven’t been there in years. I can’t even remember the last time I remembered the Alamo. We were only going to be there a day, so we didn’t do much sight seeing, but we did take a walk along the riverwalk. We stayed at the Sheraton Gunter, which was amazing! It’s a pet friendly hotel and my dog felt very comfortable there and honestly they had some of the best sheets I have ever slept on. I might call and ask what brand they are, I could be on the phone with them right now…

I am from Houston, so I am pretty familiar with Texas weather, but that Monday we were there was a whole other ball game. It was hot. HOT. I hate heat, anything over 70 degrees is against my religion. Just stay away from Texas during the summer. Trust me. The weather did lead to some pretty nice photos though.

Untitled design

The Aztec Theater is probably one of the most beautiful venues I have ever been in, but has some of the most uncomfortable chairs I have ever had the privilege of sitting in. We had floor seats, and the chairs they had were just awful. They were so bad I was unable to compare them to anything else I have ever sat on. Ana compared them to chairs you would find at a taqueria, but I think that’s insulting to every taqueria I have ever been in. I am still struggling trying to find something tangible to compare them to…maybe like chairs you sit in when you graduate?? I don’t know, they were just bad and not something you want to sit in for two minutes let alone two hours.

Untitled design (1)
Girls being girls and an outfit change

The performance kicked off with an opening act of local queens. I love drag shows and I haven’t been to one in a hot minute, so I was really excited to see them. They were all great! (I feel terrible that I can’t remember any of their names).

Trixie was phenomenal. She did it all; comedy, dancing, singing. It was truly a one woman show. She was worth every penny and I am so glad I got to see her. I love her mix of traditional comedy and startling drag makeup. I enjoyed listening to her original music and her costumes were just beautiful! I love the pink over exaggerated vintage Barbie aesthetic.  If you are a fan I would highly suggest checking her out if she going to make an appearance in a city near you. I thought the show was definitely worth the drive and the money!

IMG_1699

Also check out her album on itunes! And don’t forget to support your local queens!~

