download

I love drag and I love Rupaul’s Drag Race, so it seemed like a natural progression for me to go to the best drag convention out there, Drag Con, which has taken place in LA at the LA Convention Center for the past three years.

If I am being honest I knew it would be busy, but I was not expecting the fervor and passion of some of the fans and there was A LOT of fans. We started Day 1 attending the UNHHHH panel featuring Trixie Mattel and Katya Zamolodchikova. My two favorite queens! I was so nervous we would not get into the panel. I know their youtube show is one of the most popular on the World of Wonder channel, luckily we were able to get in and got seats right in front. Trixie and Katya were a riot and I feel so blessed that I got to see it live.

IMG_1307

We then took to the main convention floor and were immediately bombarded by bodies. It was full of lines, people waiting for meet and greets and lines of people waiting to buy merch. We got turned away for Valentina and Katya’s meet and greet. So, day 1 we spent most of the day in panels.

We saw MUG featuring Kimchi and Naomi Smalls with special guests Acid Betty and Pearl. We also saw Ginger Ming give a drag makeover to actor Jerry O’Connell. The last panel of the day was a Masterclass for Theater Queens which featured Alexis Michelle, Ginger Ming, Jinx Monsoon, Peaches Christ, and Deven Green. Both of those panels were great!They were funny, motivational, and just entertaining. Look out for them on the WOW presents youtube channel.

IMG_1320

IMG_1324

Day 2 we spent the day trying to meet some of our favorite queens. We got to the convention early and waited in line to enter. Then I ran to the Katya meet and greet line, where I waited for about three hours and…I didn’t get to meet Katya. It was really disappointing, but I tried (and failed) to not make it affect my mood. Then I got to meet Valentina. My friend was able to get VIP passes to meet her and we got to skip the line, but I can tell you she would have been worth the wait. She emanates a calm and positive energy that just recharged me. We talked for a minute and out interaction felt so genuine. I can confidently say that she is well on her way to being a superstar. I felt so much better after meeting her. I also got to meet Trixie Mattel which was a dream. She is definitely my favorite Ru girl and she was so poised and kind during our interaction. Also her booth was amazing!

IMG_4037IMG_1412I am really happy I got to go to Drag Con and I really enjoyed the overall experience, but I do think the convention could use some more organization. Especially when it comes to some of the meet and greets. I think they should take some notes from Disney World. They have an excellent system for meeting face characters and know the number of people that can be allowed to meet their characters in the amount of time they are available. I wish someone had told me that my chances of meeting Katya were zero, then I could have made my way to the Alyssa’s Secret panel or the panel featuring Christine Sydelko. Also they might want to consider increasing the number of volunteers. Some of the lines were very long and a lot of people were skipping due to the chaos. There were about 40,000 people there and obviously not everyone is going to get into panel they want or see the queens they want, but there are still ways to make the experience go a lot more smoothly.

Overall, I highly recommend the event and hope that every Drag Race fan gets the chance to experience it. Also don’t forget to support your local queens! Drag isn’t just Drag Race!

