If I haven’t made it clear before, I am going to say it now. I am a full supporter of self-love. It’s just like legend, icon, and star Rupaul Charles says, “If you can’t love yourself, how in the hell are you gonna love somebody else.” Nobody can fix you, but you. There might be times when another person has shown you your worth, but it doesn’t become a reality till you think that. That’s a little easier said then done, isn’t it? To be happy with you, to accept your faults, to work to change them.

So how do you get past it all. How do you find self-acceptance in a sea of self-doubt?

I don’t know… I wish I knew, if I did I would spend my life telling everyone how.

Does anybody really know though? Does anybody really truly love themselves?

I don’t know that either.

I guess all anyone does is try?

My choir teacher from high school used to tell us before a big show “Fake it till you make it.” If you didn’t know the words mouth something, pretend.

Maybe life is just a big production, a play, one that we happen to be starring in, but never got the script. So, we do the only thing we can do, we improvise.

Maybe if we say we love ourselves enough we will actually start to believe it. Internalize it.

So, take the time today to love yourself. Paint your nails, take a bath. Eat that piece of chocolate. Splurge on you! Take care of you! Go watch your favorite t.v show! Go to the movies by yourself. Start the book you have always wanted to write. Journal. Listen to your favorite song ten times in a row.

Just do you.

