If there are two things I love in this world it is food and my dog. If I could bring my dog everywhere with me I would. So, I instantly love when I find dog friendly places. There are numerous restaurants around Houston that allow you to bring your dog and I thought it would be great idea to review them. I brought along a friend of mine Ana, she also has a dog and she is vegan.

img_3384
Me and Lily

We went to the Shepard location as it’s the only one that is dog friendly. The patio is pretty small and only has about nine tables. I hear the outside seating fills up pretty fast during the weekend and often times there is a wait for dog owners so keep that in mind.

img_4970
Ana and her dog Pip

When we arrived we just sat ourselves and were greeted by our waiter promptly. The waiter greeted out dogs and that was pretty much it. The menu has a good variety of choices and the food can best be described as American. They have salads and a burger section (They sale a variety of vegetarian patties.) My vegan friend had no problem finding a dinner option. She ordered a salad and asked for no cheese. Their menu is condensed into one page, which I disliked because there are no descriptions of the menu items. I ordered the grilled turkey burger which was okay, but like who puts shredded lettuce on a sandwich? It makes it difficult to eat and just falls off everywhere. The portions were pretty big and they gave me a ton of fries. We both had leftovers and it was enough for a second dinner while watching Taboo (starring the impeccable Tom Hardy on FX).

img_0703
A snapshot of Barnaby’s patio seating

The Barnaby’s Shepard location is about 6 minutes away from Eleanor Tinsley park and is walking distance from the natural pet store Natural Pawz, so you can treat your dog to something delicious after you get your fill and then walk off some calories!

Overall it was an okay experience and I would probably go back, but I didn’t see anything on the menu I am dying to try so maybe I wont.

Lily and I give it 3 Paws out of 5

paw-rating-3

